list of provinces, cities and regions in Vietnam

  • by Peter Hoang
  • 3 years ago
  • Vietnam
  • 0
provinces in Vietnam

Vietnam has 63 provinces and city, including 58 provinces and 5 municipality cities (Da Nang, Ha Noi, Ho Chi Minh, Hai Phong, Can Tho), with 1 capital is Hanoi.

List of 63 provinces, cities, county and states in Vietnam (2021)

NoProvince, CityCountySubregion
1An GiangLong Xuyen cityMekong Delta River
2Ba Ria – Vung TauBa Ria citySoutheast
3Bac LieuBac Lieu cityMekong Delta River
4Bac GiangBac Giang cityNortheast
5Bac KanBac Kan cityNortheast
6Bac NinhBac Ninh cityRed River Delta
7Ben TreBen Tre cityMekong Delta River
8Binh DuongThu Dau Mot citySoutheast
9Binh DinhQuy Nhon citySouth Central Coast
10Binh PhuocDong Xoai citySoutheast
11Binh ThuanPhan Thiet citySouth Central Coast
12Ca MauCa Mau cityMekong Delta River
13Cao BangCao Bang cityNortheast
14Can Tho (municipality city)Ninh Kieu district Mekong Delta River
15Da Nang (municipality city)Hai Chau district South Central Coast
16Dak LakBuon Ma Thuot city Central Highlands
17Dak NongGia Nghia cityCentral Highlands
18Dien BienDien Bien Phu cityNorthwest
19Dong NaiBien Hoa citySoutheast
20Dong ThapCao Lanh city Mekong Delta River
21Gia LaiPleiku city Central Highlands
22Ha GiangHa Giang city Northeast
23Ha NamPhu Ly cityRed River Delta
24Hanoi (Capital,municipality city)Hoan Kiem districtRed River Delta
25Ha TinhHa Tinh cityNorth Central
26Hai DuongHai Duong cityRed River Delta
27Hai Phong (municipality city)district Hong BangRed River Delta
28Hau Giang Vi Thanh city Mekong Delta River
29Hoa Binh Hoa Binh city Northwest
31Hung Yen Hung Yen city Red River Delta
32Khanh Hoa Nha Trang city South Central Coast
33Kien Giang Rach Gia city Mekong Delta River
34Kon Tum Kon Tum city Central Highlands
35Lai Chau Lai Chau city Northwest
36Lang Son Lang Son city Northeast
37Lao Cai Lao Cai city Northwest
38Lam Dong Da Lat city Central Highlands
39Long An Tan An city Mekong Delta River
40Nam Dinh Nam Dinh city Red River Delta
41Nghe An Vinh city North Central
42Ninh Binh Ninh Binh city Red River Delta
43Ninh Thuan Phan Rang – Thap Cham city South Central Coast
44Phu Tho Viet Tri city Northeast
45Phu Yen Tuy Hoa city South Central Coast
46Quang Binh Dong Hoi city North Central
47Quang Nam Tam Ky city South Central Coast
48Quang Ngai Quang Ngai city South Central Coast
49Quang Ninh Ha Long city Northeast
50Quang Tri Dong Ha city North Central
51Soc Trang Soc Trang city Mekong Delta River
52Son La Son La city Northwest
53Tay Ninh Tay Ninh city Southeast
54Thai Binh Thai Binh city Red River Delta
55Thai Nguyen Thai Nguyen city Northeast
56Thanh Hoa Thanh Hoa city North Central
30Ho Chi Minh city (municipality city)District 1Southeast
57Thua Thien Hue Hue city North Central
58Tien Giang My Tho city Mekong Delta River
59Tra Vinh Tra Vinh city Mekong Delta River
60Tuyen Quang Tuyen Quang city Northeast
61Vinh Long Vinh Long city Mekong Delta River
62Vinh Phuc Vinh Yen city Red River Delta
63Yen Bai Yen Bai city Northwest

Provinces and cities in Vietnam are divided by region and subregion

Northern VietnamCentral Vietnam and Southern Vietnam are the three main historic, geographic and cultural regions within Vietnam. Each region consists of subregions, with considerable cultural differences originating from each subregions.

Vietnam region

Northern Vietnam

The Northwest includes 6 provinces: Hoa Binh, Son La, Dien Bien, Lai Chau, Lao Cai and Yen Bai.

The Red River Delta consists of 10 provinces and cities: Hanoi, Ha Nam, Ninh Binh, Bac Ninh, Hai Duong, Hai Phong, Hung Yen, Nam Dinh, Thai Binh and Vinh Phuc.

The Northeast includes 9 provinces of Ha Giang, Cao Bang, Bac Can, Lang Son, Tuyen Quang, Thai Nguyen, Phu Tho, Bac Giang, Quang Ninh.

Central Vietnam

The North Central includes 6 provinces: Thanh Hoa, Nghe An, Ha Tinh, Quang Binh, Quang Tri and Thua Thien – Hue.

The Central Highlands is the largest plateau area in Vietnam with 5 provinces stretching from North to South: Kon Tum, Gia Lai, Dak Lak, Dak Nong and Lam Dong.

South Central Coast consists of 8 provinces: Khanh Hoa, Ninh Thuan, Binh Thuan, Quang Nam, Da Nang, Quang Ngai, Binh Dinh and Phu Yen.

Southern Vietnam

The Southeast consists of 1 city and 5 provinces and 1 city. City. Ho Chi Minh City, Ba Ria – Vung Tau, Binh Duong, Binh Phuoc, Dong Nai and Tay Ninh.

The Mekong Delta region, including a centrally-run city, Can Tho, and the 12 remaining provinces of Long An, Tien Giang, Ben Tre, Vinh Long, Tra Vinh, Hau Giang, and Soc Trang. , Dong Thap, An Giang, Kien Giang, Bac Lieu and Ca Mau.

Related article: